Country-specific COVID-19 travel restrictions extended, now includes South Africa

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2021
by Tayla Burns, Deputy Director

To our international students and scholars:

On Monday, January 25 a presidential proclamation was released reinstating the COVID-19 travel restrictions which prohibit the entry of foreign nationals who have been physically present in Brazil, the European Schengen countries, Ireland and the United Kingdom prior to their travel to the United States. The Biden Administration has added South Africa to the list of countries in the country-specific COVID-19 travel restrictions, starting at 12:01 am EST on January 30, 2021.

COVID-19 travel restrictions for foreign nationals traveling from China and Iran also remain in place.

Please continue to review and follow University guidance regarding any personal travel plans. If you have any questions about the current travel restrictions as it pertains to this announcement please contact your Davis International Center Advisor directly.

Source: Fragomen, January 25, 2021